SACREMENTO, CALIF. – As of tomorrow, Thursday, June 9, 2016, retailers in the entire State of California will only be able to sell tobacco products (including e-cigarettes) to those age 21 and over with the exception of 18 or over active duty military.
California became one of the first states to change the legal smoking age from 18-years-old to 21-year-old on May 4, 2016, when Jerry Brown signed the senate-approved bill.
The controversial bill was approved by the senate on a 26-to-10 vote in favor of the bill on Thursday, March 10, 2016, just a week after California lawmakers favored this bill.
As of Thursday, the law will take effect and California will be one of the first states to follow the lead of cities including San Francisco, New York City, Boston and the state of Hawaii.
The bill was changed from its original form before reaching Jerry Brown to exclude active duty military.
- CSU Announces COVID-19 Vaccine Requirement for All Students and Employees - Tuesday, July 27th, 2021
- Rancho Cucamonga Pastor, 67, Arrested for Sexual Abuse of Small Child - Friday, July 23rd, 2021
- As Family Frantically Searches For Apple Valley Teen, Mother Receives Concerning Message - Saturday, July 10th, 2021